Titanic and Olympic Together

Titanic & Olympic, Belfast, 6 March 1912Titanic & Olympic, Belfast, 6 March 1912.

This photograph records a difficult operation to exchange the positions of the two ships on the high tide.  It shows Olympic (right) at the fitting-out wharf temporarily vacated by Titanic, while Titanic (left) is being manoeuvred into the adjacent Thomson Graving Dock.  This dry dock, built by Belfast Harbour Commissioners, was officially opened on Saturday 1 April 1911 and remained in use until the late 1980s. 

The Thompson Pump House, which stands beside the dry dock, housed three 1,000 horse power pumping engines.  They could drain all 23 million gallons of water from the full dock in about 100 minutes.



View all related images »


View all related audio »


View all related video »


» Titanic's fitting out progresses

Titanic fitting-out at the deepwater wharf in late January 1912.By late January, 1912 the date of...

View all related pages »


View all related people »


View all related learning »

Visiting Information

TITANICa The Exhibition is on display the the Ulster Folk & Transport Museum, Cultra. Click here for opening times, how to get here and admission prices.


Titanic Exhibition

The Titanic exhibition is housed in the Transport galleries at the Ulster Folk & Transport Museum, Cultra. You can also experience "TITANICa The People's Story in the Outdoor Folk Museum.

Click here for more information on the 500 artefacts on display and also the Ultimate Living History experience.